About us


The Oak Lawn-Hometown School District 123 Educational Foundation shall work in conjunction with the school district’s long-term goals and the broader Oak Lawn-Hometown community to acquire and distribute financial and other resources to extend and enhance learning opportunities for all district stakeholders.


The Oak Lawn-Hometown School District 123 Educational Foundation is a 501 (c)3 not-for-profit organization established in 1991 to attract private monies to fund and advance special innovative educational projects/programs to enhance student learning.


The Foundation will achieve its mission through the following goals:

  • Encourage excellence and innovation among District 123 employees by:

    • Providing resources for innovative ideas and programs that are designed to enhance students’ education, experiences, development beyond the written curricula.

    • Recognizing innovative work and community building accomplishments.

  • Enhance District 123 student learning opportunities by providing resources for students to participate in additional educational enrichment programs which seek to go beyond the ordinary curriculum or connect learning with the outside world.

  • Develop and strengthen District 123 school/community relationships with parents, staff, alumni, staff alumni and other business, governmental and individual community members by:

    • Creating events and opportunities to increase collaboration within the school and community.

    • Increasing engagement with and awareness of the Foundation and District.

    • Seeking and cultivating resources to grow the Foundation and contribution to District 123.

    • Effectively managing and responsibly allocating funds and resources consistent with our mission.

Foundation Members

Board of

Kelli Mason, Chairperson

Sofia Georgelos, Vice Chairperson

Peggy Shanker, Secretary

Dr. Mike Loftin, Treasurer

Dr. Paul Enderle

Larry Fetchko

Dr. Theodore Gasteyer

Dr. Kathleen Gavin

Rob Lorens

Julie Misner

Danielle Mobley

Theresa Roche

Vernon Zumhagen

Friends of the Foundation Committee

Theresa Roche, Co-chair

Paul Enderle, Co-chair

Corie Azem

Martha Barajas

Larry Fetchko

Jennifer Fortier

Sofia Georgelos

Lynn Jareczek

Diane Kois

Jackie Lichter

Mike Loftin

Jay Lurquin

Julie Misner

Karen O'Dea

Vernon Zumhagen

2022-23 Ed Foundation Board of Trustees Meeting Dates

  • August 11, 2022

  • October 13, 2022

  • December 8, 2022

  • February 9, 2023

  • April 13, 2023

  • June 8, 2023

Meetings are held at 7pm at D123 District Office (4201 W. 93rd Street, Oak Lawn) unless otherwise noted.